Installing Hyper-V 2008 R2 SP1 on IBM X346 with ADAPTEC SCSI u320 controller

It could be pretty tricky to install Hyper-V 2008 R2 SP1 on IBM x346 with Adaptec controller. If didn’t want to throw away my old server so I decided to install Hyper-V on it to create testing environment.

I do this with colleague of mine, and we faced with problem. Hyper-V wont install on IBM x346. Why? Server asked for driver….

I think that driver is so old that Hyper-V don’t have it in its drivers database, and You can’t install it using ServerGuide CD.

What were we do.

After spending hours trying to install Hyper-V on IBM x346 with Adaptec u320 SCSI controller, finally we have solution.

My colleague Luka Gros spend finds x64 driver for Adaptec SCSI controller. He found it on this link.

After downloading, you must extract this driver and burn it on CD

Steps what we are do after that is:

booting from Hyper-V 2008 R2 SP1 and starting installation

when asked for driver change CD to one with driver and click Browse

find driver on CD and click Next

change CD to installation CD again and finish your installation

Hyper-V is installed and running fine now

Smiješak

P.S.

If You need to manipulate with physical HDD on your Hyper-V, MMC console will return error “RPC server unavailable”.

To avoid this run this command with elevated privileges:

netsh advfirewall firewall set rule group=”Remote Volume Management” new enable=yes

Thanks to Luka Gros

4 thoughts on “Installing Hyper-V 2008 R2 SP1 on IBM X346 with ADAPTEC SCSI u320 controller

  1. Hello,
    I am installing Win2008R2 on x346 and – thanks to your post – it installed ok. But I found that I cannot add Hyper-V role as CPU doen not support virtualization.
    In google I found that Hyper-V can’t be enabled for this server, only pure Windows.
    How could you get it working??
    Best regards and thanks for answer,
    Sergey

    • Hi

      At first sorry for my late response. I’m on a sick leave from beggining of August.

      I’ve done some workaround. I change CPU to one which support virtualization (very painfull to find one) but then we faced with very low performance 😦
      Now we have Server 2008 R2 installed on this server.

      As I’m not near server, I can’t tell you exact model of CPU. CPU is not on compatibility list for this server, but it works.

      • Hi,

        I had also heard that VT was not available for the x346 series because of processor but was thinking about upgrading to a Xeon 7300 series which does support VT with same socket. However, was not sure if VT option would be made available after replacing the CPUs with current BIOS. Can you please confirm with me that the option did appear for you after you upgraded the CPU?

        Thanks so much

Leave a Reply

