What to do if your Hyper-v admin shares wont work

At friday had strange situation. I was installing my new Hyper-V server, and I had problems with migration. I was exported machine with Hyper-V manager but i couldn’t copy it to new Hyper-V server.

Why? I couldn’t reach admin shares (C$, D$) to copy virtual machine for import. I set up everything, checked firewall twice but problem was still here.

Then I think about solution to enable file and printer sharing.

And how to do that at Hyper-V? Because Hyper-V is Core OS any you don’t have all nice mmc plug-in for firewall setup.

You must do that using Command Prompt.

Syntax for this is:

“netsh firewall set service fileandprint”

After this all shares is accessible and i was completed my migration (import) to new Hyper-V machine.

2 thoughts on “What to do if your Hyper-v admin shares wont work

Leave a Reply

